Skip to content

Iceland implements Schengen and EU travel restrictions

Photo: Ragnar Th. Sigurðsson
Photo: Ragnar Th. Sigurðsson

Iceland has implemented the travel restrictions imposed for the Schengen Area and the European Union. As of 20 March 2020, foreign nationals - except EU/EEA, EFTA or UK nationals - are not allowed to enter Iceland. This advice is valid until 17 April 2020.

All foreign nationals with immigration status in Iceland or another Schengen State, or those who have family members in the same countries, are allowed to enter Iceland.
Furthermore, the travel restrictions do not apply to essential travel, including passengers in transit; health and care workers on professional travel; transportation crews (airlines and freighters); individual requiring international protection; individuals travelling because of acute family incidents and diplomats, international organizations staff, members of armed forces travelling to Iceland for duty, or humanitarian aid workers. Normal travel requirements apply.

As of 19 March 2020 all residents in Iceland (regardless of nationality) who enter the country are obligated to self-isolate for 14 days, regardless of where they come from. This also applies to Icelanders living abroad who are coming to Iceland. Transportation crews (airlines and freighters) are exempt. Tourists are exempt from quarantine.

For continuous updates please consult, (in Icelandic) or the Emergency Consular Services Hotline of the Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Iceland, tel. +354 545 0112 and email: